Do you suffer from “Sleevidge” ??

As a plus size lady, I am constantly frustrated by the size of SLEEVES on dresses and tops – even if they’re the right size body for me, sometimes I despair that the seamstress must be a T-Rex fan (little arms)

T-rex

EEK!  a monster!

But you get the point – right??   You find a FAB dress, (or top)  in your size!!!  in the right colour!!!  and for the right price!!!

You go to try it on – and can’t get your bloody arms all the way in….

now some of you want to show your arms off, as you have amazing tatts  – which I don’t – but.. I do understand the wanting to show them off..

But for those of us who would like 3/4 length or even (GASP)  long sleeves… there’s 2 hopes

and one of them is Bob!         bob hope

So, if you have experienced this phenomenon…  Or even if you have had little sleeves !  Let me know …

To be fair, it’s mainly the high street that is the culprit here.  The vintage style apparel is more atuned to no sleeves or shorter sleeves, with a cardi on top – so the actual problem doesn’t come up that often..

But this brings me onto another issue…  do you show your bingo wings???  It’s a little bit akin to the Knobbly Knees issue..  ewwwwwwwwwyuk.

 

and how many of the fashion pics have been airbrushed??  surely this is a part of getting older??  there are some parts of the body that you just can’t save.. and your bingo wings are a prime example.

I am very conscious of this – and tend to use a bolero style wrap, or little cardigan when out singing..  here’s my page just to prove it!

http://www.annanight.com

Or a jacket with full length sleeves…  and famous song-stress Dolly Parton (who is teeny tiny by the way)  NEVER goes on-stage without long sleeves..  I challenge you to find a picture of her with short or no sleeves where she is showing her upper arms! So in a way it’s comforting to know, that no matter how famous you are, there maybe still part of your body that you don’t like, or aren’t comfortable showing off!

Anyway – back to me!!!

I have found some absolutely gorgeous dresses with longer sleeves, shown on a plus size model that are bucking the trend, and maybe one day, I can actually afford one of these.

House of Foxy does a beautiful 50’s style wrap dress with 3/4 length sleeves up to a size 24 for £125  http://www.thehouseoffoxy.com/1950s-swing-dresses/1950s-wrap-circle-dress-red

Also available in blue polka dots for £135  http://www.thehouseoffoxy.com/1950s-swing-dresses/1950s-wrap-circle-dress-navy-polka

I am going to put those on my Christmas list!

This is from Starlet Vintage, and in the sale!!  up to size 26 they are very reasonably priced.. http://www.starletvintage.co.uk/hr-6839-flwht-hearts-and-roses-london-white-floral-1950s-dress.html

Failing that.. it’s hitting the gym 4 times a week and the dreaded tricep dips!! YUK

Actually to be fair, they don’t look too bad… it’s the remembering to do them that’s the rub!

Let me know your thoughts!

 

Please take a look at my shop on your way out!!  Thanks for reading!!

http://stores.ebay.co.uk/considerablybiggerbuns?_rdc=1

 

TTFN!!

Anna xxx

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment